Pokémon Dream Radar, while having the same basic gameplay, has numerous modes, each with their own special feature. Apart from the main mode, each mode costs a variety of orbs to play.

Standard Modes

The standard modes here all allow for the capturing of Pokémon utilising the clouds which have been obtained. These modes all allow for Pokémon and items to be found in them and to be sent to Pokémon Black 2 & White 2 games

Mode Features Cost
Normal Extension Standard mode. Find an equal amount of Pokémon and items 0 Orbs
Rescue Extension More likely to find Pokémon when capturing 100 Orbs
Salvage Extension More likely to find items when in the mode 100 Orbs
Miracle Extension

The Eureka Extension levels open up after you have reached certain milestones. Typically, these levels house just clouds for Dream Orbs and a cloud that holds the Legendary Pokémon of Tornadus, Thundurus and Landorus, obtained after you have collected 400-500, 1400-1500 and 3000 orbs respectively. However, after completion of the game, these levels become playable as simulators to allow you to try and beat your highscore when capturing the beasts, though they won't be catchable again. Once you have managed to capturethe Pokémon, you will be able to receive a rare item. The Legendary Pokémon can only be sent once from any Dream Radar game, and received once from any Black 2 & White 2 game.

Mode Features Cost
Eureka Extension α Capture the Pokémon Tornadus 400 Orbs
Eureka Extension β Capture the Pokémon Thundurus 600 Orbs
Eureka Extension γ Capture the Pokémon Landorus 800 Orbs
Generation IV Extension

After defeating Landorus, if you have the Generation IV DS games in your 3DS' game cartridge slot, new levels open up. These levels act like the Eureka Extension in that they only contain Pokémon. The Legendary Pokémon can only be sent once from any Dream Radar game, and received once from any Black 2 & White 2 game.

Mode Features Cost
Time Extension Capture the Pokémon Dialga 0 Orbs
Space Extension Capture the Pokémon Palkia 0 Orbs
Renegade Extension Capture the Pokémon Giratina 0 Orbs
Rainbow Extension Capture the Pokémon Ho-Oh 0 Orbs
Diving Extension Capture the Pokémon Lugia 0 Orbs
Special Parts

After defeating Landorus, there are various Key Presses you can make on the main menu. When you do this, a special area will open up where you can obtain a single special Pokémon. These areas can be repeated at will, costing no orbs.

Mode Features Cost
Special Extension A Capture the Pokémon Beldum 0 Orbs
Japan: Up, Right, Down, Left, L, R, X
Intl.: Up, Right, Down, Left, X, R, L
Special Extension B Capture the Pokémon Slowpoke 0 Orbs
Japan: Up, Down, Right, Left, L, R, Y
Intl.: Up, Down, Right, Left, Y, R, L
Special Extension C Capture the Pokémon Hoothoot 0 Orbs
Japan: X Y L R Left Right Y X
Intl.: R, L, Y, X, Left, Right, Y, X